Pregnancy update – 26 weeks

26-weeks(Image sources: 1. Maxi-Cosi cabriofix, 2. Mamas and papas, 3. Mama, baby & bliss, 4. Natal hypnotherapy)

So my plans for pregnancy updates every 2 weeks were clearly too optimistic! Time is going so fast, I can’t believe I am 26 weeks already. I had a rough few weeks in December, I struggled on working with a bad cold only to end up off sick the following week with dizziness and tiredness. Then there was the usual mayhem of christmas shopping (we did a lot online this year) and traveling to stay with family over christmas. I also had a lot on at work which meant putting in extra hours. I submitted the work yesterday and already it feels like a big weight off my shoulders. I’ve been feeling a lot better in January so I’m crossing my fingers it lasts until I finish work at the end of February.

We had our 20 week scan and saw the baby again which was lovely. It was curled up in a little ball and refused to change position for us. This meant I had to go back for another scan a couple of weeks later so that the heart could be examiner properly. Thankfully it had changed positions and the heart was fully viewed and looks healthy. We found it so amazing how you can see the brain and the four chambers of the heart so clearly on the scans. We did not find out the sex of the baby and perhaps it was as well we did not want to find out as I’m not sure the baby was keen to give the secret away!IMG_4859

I had my 25 week midwife appointment last week which again went well. The midwife measured my bump and said it was spot on for 25 weeks which is reassuring as I am getting fed up of people telling me I don’t look big enough for how far along I am. Again I enjoyed listening to the little ones heart beat racing away. I was surprised to discover the baby was head down already, I just hope it stays that way. I also booked on to my NHS antenatal classes. I still feel like I haven’t thought that much about the actual birth/labour and am focusing more on the baby at the end of it. I’m considering trying hypnobirth techniques to help me relax (I think I have a low pain threshold and a tendency to get anxious so I very much doubt it will make me get through it on gas and air alone!). I’ve got a book and plan to read that and then get the CD to listen to. I went with Natal hypnotherapy in the end which is the UK version. I’d love to hear if anyone has any experiences of using hypnobirth, especially just using the books/CD’s.

I discovered at my 20 week scan that I have an anterior placenta which explains why I only started to feel movements around 22 weeks. I love feeling the little one kick, it’s so reassuring. I also love it when my husband can feel the stronger ones with his hand on my bump. I mainly feel the movements when lying down but gradually I’m starting to feel some whilst sitting down. I’ve yet to feel any whilst standing/walking.

Last week I attended my first antenatal yoga class. I went again this week too. I’ve really enjoyed it so far. The class is great for gentle stretching and we learnt some postures that help with back ache which I started to suffer with in the last couple of weeks. There is also some discussions on pregnancy complaints, looking after a newborn and labour which I have found helpful and reassuring. It’s also nice to meet other pregnant ladies although the group was quiet small this week (probably down to the snow).

Finally we have started buying more bits for the baby and decluttering the spare room which is to become its nursery. We have bought the pram and car seat as well as few more bits of clothing and nappies etc. In the end we chose the Mamas and Papas sola in red which got reduced at one of their outlet shops to £209 (as it had no box, on the plus side this saved us having to assemble the pram!). We’ve decided against getting the separate carrycot as it lies flat and with the baby being born in April we thought this would be suitable (in winter I might have wanted more protection from the wind etc). We have a small house and car so this will help a little. The car seat was another bargain too. Babies R us had it reduced to £99 and we bought it when they had a special promotion of a further 20% off. We are still undecided on whether to buy the isofix base for it. Some people say it is safer and others say it’s not worth the extra cost. We only have a 3 door car so I’m wondering if it would life a lot easier. For now I think I’ll have a few goes at putting the seat in and see how I find it.

2 thoughts on “Pregnancy update – 26 weeks

  1. Pingback: 2013, the year I became a mummy | Great British Family

  2. Hello there, I think your site could possibly be having internet browser compatibility issues.

    When I take a look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine however when opening in IE,
    it has some overlapping issues. I merely wanted
    to give you a quick heads up! Other than that, excellent blog!

Leave a Reply

