Friday finds 18/01/13

Welcome to my first Friday finds since August! I’ve had fun putting together this weeks finds. They are a mixture of blog posts I’ve bookmarked and items I’ve been looking at and considering buying for my little one. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I have enjoyed putting it together and as ever I welcome your comments (especially if you have any experience of the items I am considering since I’m a first time mum to be), either on the blog, facebook or twitter.

friday-finds-18-01-13

1. Mothercare breastfeeding shawl, I’ve been looking at different breastfeeding covers and find that most of them look like the baby will get hot under them or that they shout “breastfeeding in progress”. I like that this one looks light weight and discreet.

2. Morrck baby hoodie, I love the idea of these blankets. They look so easy to regulate your babies temperature when out and about rather than having to wrestle a baby in to a snow or pram suit. They are also meant to be safer than putting a baby in a snowsuit in a car seat.

3. Next hot air balloon sleepsuits, Love, love these bright coloured, unisex sleepsuits.

4. Wild thing boys, toddler bear dungaree overalls, I’ve shared my love of wild thing dresses before but now there is a small collection for boys too and these bear dungarees are adorable.

Just in time for the snow that is falling today – Tips on photographing your child in the snow and snow photos: how to solve common problems.

This snow means we’ll be cancelling out plans, wrapping up warm and spending time at  home this weekend. This recipe for pancakes with caramelised pears and chocolate, looks like a delicious recipe to cook and eat this weekend.

Before the baby arrives I want to have our freezer stocked with home cooked meals that we can simply defrost and reheat in those early weeks. Once these run out I want to start using our slow cooker more. I’ll be bookmarking Mediocre mum’s series on slow cooking recipes. This recipe for lamb, carrot and pearl barley casserole is perfect for this cold weather.

Finally a couple of blog posts I’m bookmarking for when the little one arrives. First up a really useful post on finding me time as a mum. Although I only plan to be a stay at home mum for the first 12 months this post from MAMA UK looks really useful (as do many of the posts from this new online magazine for modern mums) – 20 ways to stay sane as a stay at home mum.

4 thoughts on “Friday finds 18/01/13

Leave a Reply

