Crafting for baby

IMG_4904As I mentioned in my 30 weeks update I have been making some things for the baby. I got a few books on crochet for babies for christmas (although neither of these items were from these books) and inspired by them I headed off to our local wool shop. Since we haven’t found out what sex the baby is I wanted a unisex colour scheme for the nursery and I knew it would have to be bright colours as I love them. I fell in love with the colours of wool for the blanket as soon as I saw them.The colours in the first photo are a bit dark, they are purple, apple/lime green, cream and turquoise and the wool is so soft. I decided to do a granny striped blanket following this tutorial from Attic 24. It worked up really quick and measures roughly 80 x 100cm. At the moment I’ve put it over the chair in the nursery where I plan to feed baby at night and also when it’s older read it a story before bed, perfect if we need a little bit of warmth.IMG_4905Whilst I was making the blanket I came across this pattern for a crochet stripy giraffe that I felt would be perfect for using up left over yarn from the blanket and some previous projects. Again it didn’t take me that long and I love the finished result.IMG_4903These are the only items I have finished so far but I have a crochet teddy in progress and yesterday I went out and bought felt and fabric for a cushion, art work for the wall and a hot air balloon mobile. I will blog these items as they are complete over the coming weeks. I just hope I finish them all before the baby arrives.

7 thoughts on “Crafting for baby

  1. These are just GORGEOUS. You must be so pleased! I also love brightly coloured, gender neutral stuff for babies.

  2. Pingback: Pregnancy update 37 weeks | Great British Family

  3. Pingback: Crafting for baby – Hot air balloon mobile | Great British Family

  4. Pingback: 2013, the year I became a mummy | Great British Family

  5. Pingback: Our baby’s nursery | Great British Family

Leave a Reply

