Judith Kerr celebrates her 90th birthday

081549-FC222Today I am wishing Judith Kerr OBE, the German born, British children’s author/illustrator a very happy birthday. Today she celebrates her 90th birthday, a great achievement I am sure you will agree. She gave us the much loved classic, The tiger that came to tea and the series of books about a cat named Mog. To celebrate her birthday, HarperCollins have published Creatures, a lavishly illustrated book celebrating her life and work.

The first book in the Mog series was published in 1970 (Mog the forgetful cat) and concluded with Goodbye Mog in 2002.

Mog_the_forgetful_cat

The tiger that came to tea was first published in 1968 and is still available today (in fact I bought my baby a copy last year when I was still pregnant). She also wrote several books for older children, including When Hitler stole pink rabbit (which is semi-autobiographical).

Tiger1An unexpected pleasure of motherhood for me has been rediscovering toys, books, tv and films from my childhood that I hope to share with my little girl as she grows up. I am sure I will share some of these on here with you but I would love to hear your favorites that I may have forgotten about.

Leave a Reply

