1 year on

facebook cover page copy1 year ago today I launched this blog. It was an idea I had had for a little while before hand. When I had been planning my wedding a couple of years back, I loved blogs like style me pretty and rock my wedding, so naturally when we started trying for a baby I searched out something similar baby related. I did find a few but they were all American. This sparked the idea of creating something similar myself. Truth be told I need something baby related to focus on other than trying for our own baby. So I set up this blog, a twitter account and a facebook page and set about building on the initial idea. For whatever reason when I first started this blog I gave the impression it was written by more than one person. Perhaps so it was more like the wedding blogs I loved but it is a free wordpress blog after all so it was never going to have that professional appearance (plus my design skills are basic to say the least).

I soon found so many talented photographers, handmade artists and bloggers here in the UK. I set about contacting some of them and drafting posts to go live when I launched. I picked Monday 9th July 2012 to launch and started designing the blog and publicising the site and the launch date. Unfortunately Monday July 9th 2012 was also the day I lost my grandma who I was very close to. I went ahead with the launch anyway, I had a couple of weeks of posts written and I needed something to distract me more than ever. In the weeks that followed I helped to arrange the funeral, caught the flu and found out I was pregnant. I somehow managed to keep up 5 times weekly posts until the end of August. Then the constant nausea and tiredness hit and the blog went silent.

Late October I announced my pregnancy and explained that this blog was really written by one person. I never got back to regular posting but I did document my pregnancy and share some posts similar to when I first started.

So here we are 12 months and 72 blog posts later. Both my life and this blog have changed dramatically in this time. My little girl was born late April, she is now 10 weeks and growing so fast. She is starting to nap more reliably in the day and I am starting to want to blog more. I feel the blog has lost its way and wonder if I should just have started a mummy/baby blog when I announced my pregnancy. As it stands this blog is trying to mix (and not very successfully at that) what it originally was with a personal blog documenting my journey as a first time mum. I enjoy both aspects of this blog but wonder if combining showcasing what Britain has to offer families and documenting my family life in the same blog is confusing and off-putting to readers? On the other hand I think why not combine the two, I blog for pleasure after all so why shouldn’t I blog what I enjoy? I would love to know what people think of the blog, is it too confusing to combine the two ideas? What aspects do you enjoy reading/not enjoy?

We made the decision not to post identifiable images of our daughter on here so this blog is never going to be like the other parent blogs I enjoy reading so much, as their photos do make the blog what it is. Can anyone point me in the direction of successful parent bloggers who don’t share identifiable images of their children or do they not exist? I’d love some inspiration before you get sick of photos of tiny feet or prams!

3 thoughts on “1 year on

  1. I think just follow your heart, blog what works for you. I guess in showcasing Britain you are also visiting places, so it does become both a showcase and a document of family life.
    A Mummy Too is a mostly food blog but she does blog about other things and doesn’t share images of her children. Mum of three World also doesn’t post pics of her children. So you are in good company.

  2. It’s lovely to read about why you blog and the history of your blog too. While I think images are a massive part of it, it isn’t everything. When I first started I made the decision not to show photos of my little girl but as time went on I did, and now I show far too many and my blog is sort of known for it’s photography. Sometimes I do question if I am doing the right thing by sharing so much of our lives. I am also drawn to a blog by it’s writing as well, it’s not just about the images for me. X

  3. Pingback: 2013, the year I became a mummy | Great British Family

Leave a Reply

