Friday finds – 13th September 2013

It’s been a while since I last published a friday finds so these links below include some blog posts from over the summer not just this week. I’ve really enjoyed putting this collection of links together for you. I’m not going to promise to publish a friday finds every Friday but hopefully they will be at least one a month from now on. Have a great weekend and I’ll be back with more posts next week.

friday-finds-13-91 – Yes I know it’s only september but imagine my reaction when my parents phoned on the August bank holiday to say they had bought my baby a snowsuit! Thankfully it is far too big for her yet. The colours of this snowsuit are brighter than they appear in this photo and the quality seems great as you would expect from M&S.

2 – 13th September every year is Roald Dahl day. I love Roald Dahl and still remember his stories well from my childhood. I can’t wait to read them again with my little girl (although I know it will be many years yet before we do). The book people have the complete set of 15 books available for £15.99.

3 – I’ve read a lot of reviews of this new book (the day the crayons quit) by Drew Daywalt and illustrated by Oliver Jeffers on various blogs recently. It sounds like a great book for parents (after all we have to read them to young children) and children a like.

4 – This summer saw the release of the diamond edition of Disney’s The jungle book. As well as rediscovering my childhood favorite books now I am a parent, I am also looking forward to sharing my favorite Disney films with my little girl. I’m sure there are some great new Disney films but I believe there is still a place for the classics too. I’m ashamed to say I don’t think I’ve seen The jungle book but I’m sure this will soon be rectified as my husband is very keen to get this on blueray for our daughter. The little mermaid was one of my childhood favorites and this has just been rereleased too.

5. I was very excited to discover Ikea has started selling doll’s house furniture. At the moment they are only selling this living room set for £12. I’m hoping by the time my little girl is old enough to have a doll’s house Ikea are offering more room sets.

Looking for inspiration for things to do with your children? Nurture store has put together 45+ activities for autumn or how about building a sound garden? 20 fine motor activities for babies and toddlers or how about making bath bombs? Why not prolong the summer with messy beach play. You might also find some ideas too in this post on 122 things every child should do before they are 5.

Lucy at Dear beautiful shared a tutorial for making a stunning tutu for little girls (I’m definitely going to be making one for my little girl in the future). While you are their check out Lucy’s what we’re reading posts for great book ideas/reviews. My wish list of books for my little one is growing by the week thanks to this series. I plan to continue joining in with sharing children’s book reviews in the coming weeks (see my previous children’s book reviews here). I love this idea from the startup wife for a story jar. Another great idea is this DIY kids art display from the making home.

Last year I loved Becky from The Ar-blog’s series The Arber A-Z first year survival guide and this years 2 years on, 10 lessons in, is another fantastic must read. I also really enjoyed my two mum’s 10 things we’ve learnt in one year as parents. Mummy daddy and me started a great new linky this summer for us all to share and remember the ordinary moments. Tigerlilly Quinn shares some great tips for taking family portraits.

My little girl is four months old and already I keep getting asked if I have started her on solids. At the moment I have no plans to start before six months as per NHS guidelines but I have started thinking about weaning in terms of will we do traditional or baby led. Alice from More than toast shares and honest and entertaining post on weaning from someone who has experienced both methods of weaning. As the mother of a baby who chews on everything and drools a lot, I’ve booked mark this blog post on teething from this day I love for future reference.

This week I have been listening to Radio 4’s women’s hour for the first time. They have been talking to parent bloggers about why they blog and the issues surrounding parent blogging. On monday they discussed parent’s blogging about the early years with guests Tim Atkinson (Bringing up charlie) and Alice Harold (More than toast) . Tuesday bloggers Mark Richards – Best Dad I Can Be, & Izzie Anderton –The World According To Izzie discussed the issues surrounding writing about teenagers. Wednesday was an inspiring discussion from Hayley Goleniowska (Downs side up) & Jennie Henley (Edspire)  using their blogs to campaign.

Still looking for somewhere to take the family this weekend? This weekend is heritage open days with 4500 venues opening their doors for free. Many of the venues are not usually open to the public and all of them are free admission (even the ones that usually charge an admission fee). There is a search facility on the site so you can see what is open in your home  town.

Finally, are you a blogger? do you make money from your blog? if so are you aware of the tax implications? Lucy from Captured by Lucy has published a really useful post on bloggers and tax on her blog this week.

4 thoughts on “Friday finds – 13th September 2013

  1. Lovely round up 🙂 Sorry only just seen it! Fritha’s post is gorgeous, glad you enjoyed it, & lovely to be included with such a great group of blogs.

Leave a Reply

