Friday finds – 27th September 2013

Welcome to another week of Friday finds. It’s been a quiet week on the blog due to a weekend a way at my parents, illness (my husband has a nasty bug & I’m fighting off a cold) and generally busy days looking after our daughter (who so far is not ill, we are hoping my husband caught the bug from her when she was ill the previous week). The only other post I have published this week was Wednesdays UK handmade feature Cwtch bugs. Hopefully next week will see more blog posts. Until then I hope you will enjoy this collection of items and blog posts I have put together for you (there is definitely an autumn theme to this collection).

friday-finds-27-91. Last year I did a UK handmade feature on Clara and Macy (back then they were called cupcakes for Clara) well this week I spotted this gorgeous autumn print.

2. I would like to add this classic, we’re going on a bear hunt, to my daughters book collection as it’s such a great story. This jigsaw version is a beautiful hard back book which will be nice as a picture book to read now but when she is older the pictures are 12 piece jigsaw puzzles (there are 7 puzzles) which adds a nice interactive element to the story.

3. I popped to my local Sainsburys yesterday to pick up a few bits of food and came home with 3 tops and a pair of trousers for my baby (for less than £10). TU clothing is all 25% until Monday (including sale items). Aren’t these purple spotted cord trousers (£4.50) adorable? and I love this Fairisle hat and mittens set (£4.13).They didn’t have either of these items in my local store but I would have snapped them up if they did.

4. I found it really hard to pick one item from the new Zara Kids homeware collection (perhaps I’ll do a feature on the collection in the coming weeks). In the end I settled on this cute ski towel. My baby is out growing all her hooded towels and I wondered what you all do when your little ones out grow them? I have been using a bath towel some times but I feel like hooded towels keep her head warm & dry her hair quicker especially as the weather is only going to get colder.

5. I discovered gumigem teething jewellery this week via many blogs. Personally I think they are a great idea as my little one is forever trying to put everything in her mouth and chewing/sucking on it (I don’t even think she is teething yet). My only problem would be choosing from the wide selection of styles and colours available. I do quiet like this skimmers grapevine, although perhaps for my baby a Bermuda bangle might work better (she often tries to chew on the fingers or wrist of who ever is holding her).

Did you all follow along with the MAD blog awards online last Friday? if you weren’t one of the lucky ones there of course. Congratulations again to all the winners. In case you haven’t seen it, here is the full list of winners.

Lots of posts have been published this week, sharing autumnal inspired activities for children of all ages. My favorites include bringing home a woodland walk, Autumn sensory dig, 20 autumn nature crafts, autumn play dough and autumn sensory play.

I am intrigued by this idea of making homemade crisps using the microwave and will have to give it a try soon. These pear and white chocolate cupcakes sound delicious, as do pear and cinnamon smoothies. I’ve bookmarked this recipe for the future, macaroni cheese with hidden vegetables. I love chocolate brownies and it is always good to have a standby, easy recipe, as well as a more indulgent one (pimp my brownie recipe). If you still want more recipes then check out this recipe swap using recipes on tea cloths

I love these posts – 19 pieces of advice to my pregnant self, on the eve of giving birth and To my Kitty, on your third birthday (gorgeous words, gorgeous photos). These posts made me chuckle this morning, out of the mouths of babes and chocolate tablets make us not stressed (I’m so writing these posts when my little girl is talking).

9 thoughts on “Friday finds – 27th September 2013

  1. Pingback: Friday finds – 4th October 2013 | Great British Family

Leave a Reply

