Feeling festive

This year is my baby’s first Christmas and even though she will be just 8 months old, with no idea what Christmas is, I am really looking forward to it. I’m certainly getting in to the festive spirit more and earlier than in previous years. Christmas is definitely about children and now I have one of my own it is starting to feel special again. I find myself thinking about my own memories of Christmas as a child and what made it feel magical to me. Although it will be some years before my baby really understands and enjoys Christmas, I want to start creating traditions and memories for her and for us as a family now. You’ll have to excuse the poor photo quality in this post as these are all phone photos. The amount of baby gear that we take out with us has meant I have been leaving my big camera at home and the poor lighting conditions due to the weather and/or time of day have not helped matters.

Badl_A5CMAEvdCn.jpg largeSince my baby is just 7 months old, we have decided not to get her an advent calendar this year. Instead I bought her a few Christmas books that we have been reading together. I have plans to add books to this collection each year. I look forward to getting out our advent box each December and rediscovering old favorites. I’m sure a few Christmas films will be added to the box over the years too. I’ve also been thinking about different activities that we can do this month and have been purchasing a few bits for sensory play. Over the next week or so expect to read more about our Christmas books and sensory play on the blog.

Fotor120622294We have also been out and about lots (which is partly why the blog has been quiet lately). We have taken our baby to our town’s Christmas lights switch on which included a Christmas market, live music, the lights switch on and fireworks. Despite the noise She slept through it all! We enjoyed it though and it made a nice start to the festive season. The follow day was the monthly Craft and food market that our town holds which had a lovely festive feel to it.

WP_20131125_001WP_20131125_002I left baby with my husband one evening and went to a cupcake decorating class with one of my friends. I had lots of fun learning lots of different cake decorating ideas. I left with 6 cupcakes (that I was rather pleased) and lots of inspiration for decorating my Christmas cakes.

Fotor1206223146WP_20131203_013This week I headed in to Manchester on the train to meet up with some of my family and look around the Manchester Christmas markets. We had a lovely day exploring the markets which were bigger than ever this year.

WP_20131205_002Yesterday my husband had the day off and we were supposed to visit the Chester Christmas markets (he works in Manchester so wanted to go somewhere different). However due to the bad weather we never made it to the city center and went to Cheshire oaks instead. We did manage to get some Christmas shopping done (mainly presents for me and baby) and had a nice lunch out. I loved their Christmas tree too.

For the rest of the month we have plenty more plans including more Christmas shopping (hopefully mostly online), visiting family, our Christmas tree is going up this weekend or next, a night out with my mummy friends (leaving babies with their daddies), a Christmas party with my work colleagues, a messy play baby Christmas party (really looking forward to this one), secret santa for the babies in my postnatal group, Christmas special rhyme time at the library, Christmas baking and our baby music class is Christmas themed next week. All in all, a busy month with lots of festive fun.
Country Kids from Coombe Mill Family Farm Holidays Cornwall

6 thoughts on “Feeling festive

Leave a Reply

