Twas the night before Christmas – What we’re reading

IMG_6773As I’ve mentioned previously I bought my baby a few Christmas books instead of an advent calendar this year. I look forward to bringing out these seasonal books each December and enjoying them all over again with her (and of course adding new ones to the collection). Over the next week or so I plan to share the 4 books that we have started with and perhaps some ideas on ones I would like to add in future years.

Although my daughter is only 7 months old, she is happy to sit and have books read to her. I have discovered that she enjoys most ones that rhyme and have a rhythm to them. Noisy books are good at keeping her attention too and when she is excited she will hit the book (so board books are good). This first book fits these criteria perfectly and its one I remember well from my own childhood.

IMG_6781I knew that our collection of festive books had to include a copy of the classic Christmas poem, The night before Christmas. I remember, as a child, reading this classic poem by Clement Clarke Moore every Christmas eve and I couldn’t wait to start reading it to my daughter.  I did think she would be too young this year, the poem too long, the language too complex. However, this Noisy book seemed perfect as an introduction to it for young children.

It’s a sturdy board book with detailed and colourful pictures and 5 sounds (one for each double page) that capture my baby’s attention when I press them. She’s too young to realise that she doesn’t know what a sash is or that we don’t normally say words like twas or ‘kerchief. At the moment she is drawn to it I believe by the rhymes and the sing song like flow of the poem. Of course the colourful pages and noises help too.

The book is almost A4 size so too big for her to hold herself but the size is needed for the length of the poem and also makes the pictures all the more engaging. For me it brings back happy memories and personally I feel the poem captures the magic and excitement of Christmas perfectly.

IMG_6776If you are looking for more children’s book recommendations or you would like to join in with ‘What we’re reading’ Christmas special, head over to Space for the butterflies to link up this week (I’d love to hear your recommendations too, in my comments below ) or visit Carie’s ‘What we’re reading: The booklist’ pinterest board for all the past reccomendations.

3 thoughts on “Twas the night before Christmas – What we’re reading

  1. I love The Night Before Christmas – and this one looks fantastic, I love the illustrations and noisy is always good at Christmas!

  2. Pingback: 2013, the year I became a mummy | Great British Family

Leave a Reply

