Monkey puzzle – What we’re reading & 300 picture book challenge

IMG_6638Monkey puzzle is another fabulous book for young children, written by Julia Donaldson and illustrated by Axel Scheffler. Perhaps a little too advanced for my 8 month old but we bought it because it was my nephews favorite book when he was a toddler. It’s not hard to see why and my little girl will sit and listen all the way through already. As with many of Julia Donaldson books it has a beautiful rhythm to it and I think that is what my baby currently enjoys. However I can see us reading this book for many years to come once she starts to understand the story and enjoy the pictures.

IMG_6643IMG_6648Monkey puzzle is about a young monkey who has lost his mum and the butterfly that helps him find her again. Along the way butterfly finds many other animals that fit monkeys descriptions of his mum but they aren’t her. Butterfly explains that she didn’t realise monkeys mum looked like him because her babies don’t look like her. Of course in the end monkey is reunited with his mum.

IMG_6649A beautifully illustrated story book that children will adore with plenty of opportunities for learning about animals, families and describing for older children.

If you love children’s books as much as I do, head over to Carrie at Space for butterflies to see what she’s been reading with her children.

Space for the Butterflies: What We're Reading

300 picture book challenge – You’ve probably noticed that I love children’s books so when I read about this challenge a few days ago on Life and times of Mummy Morkus, I instantly felt inspired to join in. I know at 8 months old my baby does not need a different story every day but I figured it can’t harm. I counted up the books that we own already and its around 50 (she got quite a few for Christmas) and she already has a library card so I figured 300 should be achievable. I’ve set up a pinterest board to share and keep track of the books we’ve read (and also share a short review of each book). I hope to keep sharing our favorites as part of what we’re reading on a Tuesday and will add a bit of information about how we are getting on with the 300 book challenge at the end.

IMG_7674I started the Challenge on the 1st January and this post includes details of all book read up to the end of yesterday. Being the first week, all books count as new so we’ve made a good start this week and I do not expect the number to be as high every week. We went to the library on Saturday morning and I borrowed some books for my daughter for the first time. Yesterday we went back to the library to join in with their rhyme time session and I noticed they had just put out a lot of brand new books so we ended up bringing 5 more books home!

Number of picture books read this week (up to 6th Jan) – 20/300

Total number of picture books read in 2014 – 20/300

Number of trips to the library – 2

Number of library books borrowed – 14

300in2014

13 thoughts on “Monkey puzzle – What we’re reading & 300 picture book challenge

  1. Oh how lovely, another Julia Donaldson classic! We’ve only got this on audio book in the car but it’s one of our favourites!

  2. This book looks really fun. We haven’t read much by Julia Donaldson, but we have enjoyed the few that we have read. Looks like you are going to have a little reader on your hands!

    • We have a few favorites that get read a lot too but I’m hoping we’ll still get close to 300 as I’m discovering there are so many fantastic kids books out there. I’m sure as she gets olde it will be harder to read the same variety as I guess she will like to pick the same favorites from her shelf.

  3. Pingback: Picture Book Challenge Week #2 | Books My Kids Read

Leave a Reply

