Our baby’s nursery

At the end of this month Poppet turns one and I realised I haven’t shared the photos of her completed nursery yet. She’s been sleeping in here since September too! It’s a tiny box room unfortunately but we’ve done the best we can with it. nursery 2

The room was started whilst I was pregnant but wasn’t finish properly until some time last summer.  We made the decision not to find out if we were having a boy or a girl but I wanted to get a lot of the nursery finished before the baby arrived, as I knew we would never have as much time again! I didn’t like most of the unisex, co-ordinated nursery ranges that were on the market at the time nor was I keen on an overly pink room if we did have a girl. I love colour, especially bright colours so we decided to include lots. We decided on a theme of hot air balloons as we felt this could work for a boy or a girl and we felt it was playful. There is something about hot air balloons that I just love. I remember getting excited when I spotted them in the sky when I was a child. Unfortunately I don’t think I’ve seen one for a couple of years. nurseryAfter christmas last year, late in my second trimester, I started crafting for baby. I crocheted a blanket and a stuffed giraffe, made a cushion, a couple of wall decorations using sewing hoops and made a hot air balloon mobile.  You can read more about some of these crafts here and the mobile here. You can also see a few more pictures of how the nursery looked before Poppet was born here.

After our daughter was born I personalised the embroidery hoops with her name and date of birth. My sister-in-law made the button initial artwork and also the bunting (both shown in the first set of photos, bottom right) which has her name on one side and date of birth on the other. I also ordered the hot air balloon stickers after she was born, more because we never made a decision before hand but I picked some with a bit of pink to give the room a bit of a girly touch. nursery3

The rug is from mothercare which has nothing to do with hot air balloons but the colours were a good match and I liked it. The sheets are part of the same range and I love the tiny colourful clouds.IMG_8102We hope to move house before she gets too much older (or gets too many toys!) but for now I am happy with her little bedroom.

 

10 thoughts on “Our baby’s nursery

Leave a Reply

