Sensory play for babies – jelly

IMG_8606aI’ve been doing bits of sensory play with my daughter for a while now but water play is about as messy as it has got at home. At christmas we took her to a messy play christmas party. We had so much fun and one of the activities she seemed to really enjoy was jelly in a tuff spot. I’ve been meaning to recreate this activity at home for her for some time but never quiet got round to it (I even had the jelly in the cupboard). Then last week Ghostwritter mummy shared a really useful blog post about messy play for under 2’s. I also had a bit of a chat with her on twitter about messy play for babies and came away really inspirded to start doing more with my daughter.  IMG_8605IMG_8606 We don’t have a tuff spot but I bought a clear plastic underbed storage box which I planned to use for sensory play. I tested it out with water play thinking Poppet would sit next to the box and reach in to play with the contents. However as you can see in this photo my daughter wasn’t happy to sit next to the box and instead climbed straight in to the tub of water, fully clothed! IMG_8608IMG_8609

This time I thought I’d try messy play with jelly in the bath with Poppet stripped to her vest. Simple clean up I thought (which was true) but what I hadn’t expected was for Poppet to pull herself up to standing using the side of the bath. Jelly makes the bath very slippy! Not quiet the stress free messy play I was hoping for as I constantly faught to stop her falling over in the jelly! How I wish we had a tuff spot. Sat in the middle of that with nothing with in reach to pull herself up on would be great. Although she’d probably crawl off leaving a trail of jelly behing her. IMG_8614

She did spend a short time sat squishing the jelly in her hand which she seemed to enjoy. Surprisingly she didn’t try to eat any of it, very unusual as everything goes in the mouth (and she did eat it at the christmas party but perhaps that was the sand that had been transferred form another activity that she enjoyed!). Excuse her messy hair. We did this activity straight after our swimming lesson.IMG_8618I’m not sure the standing up was her way of saying she’d had enough or more just that she could stand up. She’s never still you see. She loves to crawl, pull herself to standing and most recently climb on to things. Back to the drawing board, we’ve not done any messy play this week. I need to pick something else to try with her soon.

 

9 thoughts on “Sensory play for babies – jelly

  1. I had exactly the same problem with jelly messy play in the bath! Hopefully as the weather improves, you’ll be able to do some outside too which might be easier! 🙂

  2. Ah she looks like she had fun! I need to get myself a tuff spot too! we use them loads in my school nursery but alas not at home! looking forward to seeing more of your messy play posts x

  3. I tend to go for the kitchen floor for really messy things – or outside when it’s a bit nicer (my poor grass, it’s never going to recover!) – although if it’s jelly my two are both convinced that it’s really for eating!

Leave a Reply

