Living arrows 20/52

IMG_0139Last week saw a big change for me & Poppet. I went back to work three days a week and she started at nursery. She had 2, two hour settling in sessions the week before and unbelievably she did not get upset at all (the same can not be said for me however). Each day I returned to find her sat in a high chair eating lunch and the staff all told me how independent and confident she is. These settling in sessions did help me a little but I still worried about leaving her on my first day back at work, after all 9 hours is a lot longer than 2.

Monday morning came around all too fast and I dropped her off at nursery before heading in to work. Again there were no tears, in fact when we were outside the baby room and she saw one of the staff, her arms and legs started waving around (her way of showing excitement). Sure enough, I kissed her goodbye and put her on the floor and she was soon off exploring the room and toys. I rang once during the day and was told she was doing really well but I still worried that come nap time she would be inconsolable. I arrived to pick her up at 5:30 to be told that she had managed the whole day with no tears (some shouting in protest at nap time but that was all and that is normal for Poppet).She’s done two full days now and has been absolutely fine. I still can’t quiet believe it. The staff tell me she has settled in the best they have seen. Many of my friends have told me how it has taken weeks for their babies to settle at nursery and I was expecting tears when I left her in a morning at least. However I am so proud of how well she has settled and it did make it a lot easier to leave her on her second day as I was not worrying so much. I just hope that this isn’t the calm before the storm and she continues to be happy there.

One of the things I was looking forward to about Poppet going to nursery was her bringing home pictures she has made there. I wasn’t expecting it so soon but when I arrived to collect her on her first full day I was given this picture and also a chocolate rice krispie cake that they had made. I’ve been meaning to do her hand and foot prints again but it is one of those things I never quiet get round to. This picture now has pride of place on the fridge and it makes me smile every time I see it.

living arrows

 

6 thoughts on “Living arrows 20/52

  1. Oh I’m so glad it’s all going well – it makes such a difference when you can feel really confident that they’re happy and settled.

Leave a Reply

